Thursday, June 23, 2011

Random Axe – Random Axe (2011) – Review

Random Axe – Random Axe
The underground hip hop (super) group Random Axe is made up of producer Black Milk (who produced the album in its entirety) and rappers Guilty Simpson and Sean Price. The album consists of fabulous indie/90s-style tracks that will appeal to the more diehard of hip hop fans. While none of these songs will probably get much (if any) radio play, Random Axe still has a few great tunes that should draw new fans in and open their eyes to the underground/indie sound. The three artists work really well together, complimenting each other’s style. Both Simpson and Price deliver forceful lyrics that are poignant, powerful and at times humorous, while Black Milk’s beats are soulful but bombastic and get your head nodding. Overall, the album is just a great piece of hip hop and well worth checking out. 4/5

Editor’s Song Picks:
1)      The Hex – Produced by Black Milk
2)      Random Call – Produced by Black Milk
3)      Monster Babies – Produced by Black Milk

Available on CD and Digital Download

No comments:

Post a Comment